Web Technology @ CCBC

Student driven blog for all things web.

Benefits to Hand Coding Your Website

Posted by tment894 on October 1, 2007

The article, Benefits to Hand Coding Your Website, explains why it is important to hand-code your websites rather than using WYSIWYG editors – the power to have total control of your website(s). As a result, hand-coding will result in less code, better SEO results, better design consistency, maintenance and update ease, small file sizes, and so much more. Hand-coding it the best way to go.

4 Responses to “Benefits to Hand Coding Your Website”

  1. tgrimes said

    This article explains why I decided to take this class. I was getting better at designing the school website using Dreamweaver learning a little more with each workshop I took. Unfortunately, as I ran into little errors I really didn’t know how to fix them because I did not understand the code. I have learned a little in this class which I think is helping me understand a little of the code in my Dreamweaver pages. I hope to learn a lot more as we move on.

  2. ashryoc1 said

    I think that hand coding you kinda know more what you are doing and where you situated things… just like when i clean my room i know where i put what but if my mom cleans my room i have no idea where my PJ’s are.. thats what I think of hand coding.

  3. nfilippou said

    This article is in target at to the benefits of learning CSS and really being called a Web designer. The article points to all the benefits of why to handcode your your website. Many good points.

    Nick…

  4. glijoi said

    Yes, I do agree that in order to excel in the XHTML language you have to hand code without the help of an editing tool. However, I also firmly believe that if you are a beginner you should use a combination of both, taking advantage, for example, of an editing application such as DreamWeaver. That’s the path to follow if you are, like me, just starting out. Indeed, I do use DreamWeaver, consequently, I have learned and understood a lot because of it, in addition to what I have learned by attending classes. Learning XHTML is like learning a new language, and you don’t memorize it in 3 months with all those codes and rules to store in your mind… it takes time and practice. Good luck.

    Giuseppe

Leave a Reply

 
