Web Technology @ CCBC

Student driven blog for all things web.

Embedding Flash In A Strict Compliant Environment

Posted by CDowd on February 22, 2008

Ever use those little embed tags to post flash? Well, they’re not compliant.

I have to build a website for my MULT 109 class, and since I’m in WEBT I decided that I would try to make every page strict compliant. Then I got to my flash game page. What a nightmare!!!

Anyway, I did an exhaustive Google search for an answer, and I found these articles:

The third article is the one I finally went with. It was a bit of a bear, since it involves javascript, and CSS for layout, rather than just a simple cut and paste embed script, but wow it works!

Here’s my Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict webpage for proof. There are a  couple of CSS issues I’m still working on, but the page is valid, AND the flash works in both Firefox and IE. I think that’s worth a little extra credit. 😉

6 Responses to “Embedding Flash In A Strict Compliant Environment”

  1. jrosero said

    I never thought about those tags. One would assume that they are compliant since they are auto generated but I guess that isn’t the case. Ill keep this in mind when I get around to putting up flash content on my own site.

    thanks

  2. miisronhm said

    I went to the site and I just posted my last blog about flash and the web. Thank you for thelink (I downloaded it)
    Jean
    webt 143 Roni’s class

  3. Wonderful!

  4. […] Here is a resource on embedding swf object compliment from http://blog.deconcept.com that has been tested as XHTML compliant by https://webt.wordpress.com in the entry titled “Embedding Flash In A Strict Compliant Environment”. […]

  5. Well, well, it’s been a while since I passed by. Nice to say hello once in a while. Charged to Social Networking. Glad you still here.

  6. C. Dowd said

    Wow, I just typed “strict compliant” into Google, and I was surprised to see that my old 143 post was the number 1 result! Neat.

Leave a Reply

 
