Web Technology @ CCBC

Student driven blog for all things web.

CSS Navigation Trick

Posted by CDowd on March 23, 2008

http://www.sitepoint.com/article/top-ten-css-tricks

Yeah, it’s another top 10. I’m really only looking at Tip #10 this time. It’s a great way to get your navigation hi-lited on each particular page without having to recode the nav on every page of your site. I haven’t tried it yet, but I will on my personal site (which I am currently slowly redesigning anyway) and then I will update this post with the results. I’m hoping it’s a winner.

2 Responses to “CSS Navigation Trick”

  1. akeatin1 said

    Looks promising, and there are some other good tricks that I’ll have to try. Let us know if it works.

  2. C. Dowd said

    Doesn’t look like I can edit the post, but I tried the technique and it worked perfectly! You can check out the results at my site- www-dot-cdowd-dot-com.

    You’ll notice that the page you’re on has a hi-lited nav button so the user will not be confused as to which page they are on. Simple graphical things like that are so much better in CSS than actually using multiple images like I had originally planned.

Leave a Reply

 
